Not so simple

I thought, when considering my week-long trip to the US, that I would have more difficulty in maintaining my diet, since I would be eating out, but that I would have ample opportunity for exercise.

I got that backwards.

The restaurants in the US are more than happy to adjust your order to cater for “no fries, extra salad”, and there are plenty of low carb options in most half-decent restaurants ranging from a salmon steak to avocado salad. The breakfast options have been excellent, with lots of protein to keep me going until midday and the carbs have been mostly easy to avoid. The only significant deviations from the diet plan have been on the intercontinental flights, where if you don’t eat, you starve, but there’s no “low carb” option on the menu.

On the other hand, despite the presence of sports centers everywhere I go, I struggled to find the time to do any real exercise. This is frustrating because it’s not so much that I don’t have the time, but that the free time I have is at the wrong moment in the day.

For example, I had a more or less empty slot in mid-afternoon most days, but then I wasn’t near my hotel, so I had no access to sports facilities. or I would intend to wake up early to do some sport, and then I’d find that since I’m in a different time zone, my email inbox filled up during the night and if I don’t deal with it now I’ll never catch up, so there goes the opportunity for sport. By the time I’d get back in the evening, the sports center in the hotel was closed.

Most frustrating of all was being within a short walk of the beach in Miami, and eating two meals in restaurants with beach views, but not once setting foot on the sand or taking my swimming trunks out of my bag.

In desperation I’ve been doing 100 push-ups a day, 25 at a time, to compensate and to be able to tell myself that I’ve actually done something worthwhile. But it’s not the same as 30 minutes of concentrated resistance or isometric work.

I haven’t weighed myself in a week, and I confess to a little anxiety when I return as I would be very unhappy if it turns out I’ve lost a lot of ground and gained back significant weight.

Leave a Reply

